A sonata is a musical structure in three parts: exposition, development and recapitulation. This kind of pattern is widespread in traditional forms of live arts: three-act structure in theatre (setup, confrontation, resolution), Yvonne Rainer’s description of traditional dance phrases (attack, suspension, recovery) and the Japanese traditional aesthetic concept of Jo-ha-kyū (beginning, rupture, rushing) applicable to music, dance and theatre . This seemingly universal consensus would seem to suggest that this pattern underlies the natural movement of all things. In Hinduism, the supreme divinities are the Trimurti, the trinity of Brahma (who creates), Vishnu (who preserves) and Shiva (who destroys). Vipassana meditation is based on the fact that all experience appears, develops and disappears. Everything is transient. Even though when we’re submerged in the midsection (development, confrontation, suspension, rupture,) of something we may become absorbed in its intensity, everything will pass. Then something new will begin.



María Ferrara



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.